Accessing DDR2 on Nexys 4 DDR

JColvin

Question

A customer on our website asked the following question:

I'm a before graduation student and I'm studying FPGA design with Nexys4DDR board. I'm using vivado 2016.2 as a tool. I already have used Nexys2 board before. I'm trying to make a design that contains VGA and DDR2 SDRAM. For my design working, I must access DDR2 SDRAM from my computer directly. It was done by adept program of Digilent inc when I used Nexys2 borad. But now, using Nexys4 borad, I had my siturations changed totally. adept program can not access DDR2 SDRAM. There seems some other ways such as MIG or so. I should download datas from my computer to DDR2 SDRAM directly for my design working. 
Question1 : Can I download datas from my computer to DDR2 SDRAM?
Question2 : If can, How?

The response is below.

9 answers to this question

There is no Adept SDK data transfer interface on the Nexys4-DDR. On the Nexys2 the Adept SDK and Adept GUI (in windows) allowed you to transfer data to CellRAM, but that is not possible on the Nexys4-DDR. You will need to modify your design to either get data from your computer over USB-UART (max bitrate ~3 mbps) or Ethernet (max bitrate ~100 mbps). You can then stream this data into the DDR2 memory via the MIG component. If you do not need a lot of bandwidth into and out of the DDR2, you can use our SRAM2DDR interface to access the memory in an easier to implement way. It provides the same physical interface that the CellRAM use to have, but at a higher latency for accessing the memory.

On 2016. 8. 30. at 1:47 AM, JColvin said:

Hello, JColvin.

I have asked some of our applications engineers about this; they will get back to you here on the Forum.

Thanks,
JColvin

Thank you. You friendy made my question get a good answer! For my poor English! I really appreciate your favor.

On 2016. 8. 31. at 9:16 AM, sbobrowicz said: