Controlling output voltages on PmodDA4 from Basys2

Vladimir

Question

Hello.

I found similar question “Working with DA4 PMOD on Nexys 4” posted on 23 Oct. 2014 and answer from JColvin. I understand the hint about usage of internal voltage. Nevertheless I don’t see output voltages. It is not easy to me to follow applied code, because I have learned so far Verilog and example is given in VHDL.   

I am electrical engineer and programmer by education, but I am new to digital electronics and FPGAs. I have acquired some initial experience by learning book “Digital Design Using Digilent FPGA Boards. Verilog/ Active –HDL Edition” by Richard E.Haskell and Darrin M.Hanna from 2012. I have implemented many examples from the book on BASYS2 board that I have.

Now I would like to see voltages on outputs of PmodDA4 that I connect to my BASYS2 board. For beginning I will be satisfied with direct (permanent) voltages. I have been trying few versions of code and didn’t succeed.

Please, advise – what is wrong? May be many things…

I will try to describe my logic in details and attach my code too.    

I use Verilog. I connect PmodDA4 to JA connector of BASYS2 board.

I have to create 3 correct signals: SYNC, DIN and SCLK.

According to documentation I assume that:

1. SYNC: JA1 (B2) – pio<72> in ucf file.

2. DIN: JA2 (A3) – pio<73> in ucf file.

3. SCLK: JA4 (B5) – pio<75> in ucf file.

Default frequency of a board is 50 MHz. I use half of this frequency – 25 MHz as a SCLK signal.

I understand logic of operation so: if SYNC is high – data from signal DIN does not go into internal register of PmodDA4.