FPGA with really much RAM

Matthias92

Question

Hi everyone,

this is my very first question on your forum :)

I'm new to the FPGA topic and this week I struggled to evaluate how difficult the following project will be:
We have a motion capture system tracking a hand and driving a very complicated levitation device. The project should work with as little delay as possible. At the moment it is about 17 ms and the target is to reduce this to around 7 ms. Most of the latency comes from the GigE connected cameras, sampling at 200 Hz, but also from the operating system. Because of the complex computation, the difficult part is precomputed as a very big lookup table (8 GB) present in memory. To reduce latency, we want to work 'bare metal' and later on , eliminate the lookup table and use high parallelized code  to drive 128 devices at 50kHz frequency.

What I planned so far: Using the existing cameras would require a low latency system handling image processing (stereo camera registration and key point tracking). I know that these would be efficient to be implemented on an FPGA. To address 4 Optitrack Prime 13 cameras, the NetFPGA-1G-CML Kintex-7 FPGA Development Board looks very promising. Can somebody estimate how difficult it will be to extract images of a GigE Camera with the Vivado Studio will be?

The second part is frustating: I do not know how to add DDR3 RAM from a laptop to this setup. Is it possible to add an adapter to the FMC and use the MIG to configure the Interface? I tried to search for this but only found boards with SO-DIMM sockets or RAM -Chips presolderd. The first are far to expensive and the second have not the required capacity.  I only used SPI and I2C on a microcontroller so far, therefore interfacing ethernet phy or RAM programmatically and especially physically is still a mystery to me.