Preparation for an FPGA (VHDL) developer job interview

Tickstart

I have this really important job interview coming up, I feel very fortunate to have gotten this chance and I need to make the most of it. I don't know what to expect and, to be frank, I am a newbie when it comes to FPGA's and digital design. But I still have some experience, enough to know that I find this subject interesting and would like to pursue a career in it or its related fields. I've ordered a recent book that should arrive within a week or so, "Digital System Design with FPGA: Implementation Using Verilog and VHDL" which I hope will give me more insight into good practices and so on.

For all of you who have a lot of experience, what would you ask if you were hiring, and what would you like to hear? I'm not looking for a cheat sheet, but rather I'd like to know what's really important and what I should focus my attention to. (For instance, @D@n taught me to always keep my processes synchronized to the same clock) (@hamster also being very knowledgeable and helpful)

• Tickstart changed the title to Preparation for an FPGA (VHDL) developer job interview

@Tickstart,

All good questions.  I've avoided most of them by avoiding hiring so far, although I am considering putting my first development team together, and so I'm starting to wonder what questions I'd ask from the other side of the divide--if I chose to do so.

To be clear, I've been offered the opportunity to work with a group of unpaid interns, and to lead them through the process of creating an ASIC digital design.  This is not something I've done before, and ... I'm not (yet) sure I'm up to the challenge.  So, I'm just thinking this over.  If I did it, I think I'd be doing a *LOT* of teaching ...  That teaching would probably start out with a course on how to use formal methods to prove that a design works, how to test a design in simulation, and much more.