Zybo Z7 PMOD IO speed

GN_ghost

Question

I have a question about how to connect zybo z7 to a ADC with LVDS input and output running at 200MHz. The zybo z7 need to provide clock to the ADC at 200 MHz and receive data at this speed. The ADC's interface is indeed LVDS yet this zybo z7 board's IO bank are all 3.3V powered, which means that it cannot use the internal termination. I think I have two way to make it work.

1. transmit data and clock in a single-ended way and do the single-ended to differential conversion on my ADC board.

2. transmit data in LVCMOS33 and do level conversion in ADC board.

The problems I have are that:

1. Is that ok to transmit a signal in single-ended way at 200MHz? I have no experience on doing that before.

2. If I use LVCMOS33, since I still cannot use the on chip termination, is that enough for me to just terminate transmission lines at the ADC's LVDS driver side?

3. What is the impedance on the FPGA IO pins when it is in LVCMOS mode? 

Thanks a lot!

4 answers to this question

Hi @GN_ghost,

On page 31 in the reference manual in section 16.4 High-Speed Pmod is shows the High speed pmod ports traces are routed 80 ohm (+/- 10%) differential. We do not have a maximum frequency for the High speed pmod ports so we can not guarantee the 200 MHz. I am not familiar with the termination protocols with LVDS here is a document that might be helpful.  Here and here are some forum threads that also deal with this issue and should be helpful.

thank you,

Jon

3 hours ago, jpeyron said:

Hi @GN_ghost,

On page 31 in the reference manual in section 16.4 High-Speed Pmod is shows the High speed pmod ports traces are routed 80 ohm (+/- 10%) differential. We do not have a maximum frequency for the High speed pmod ports so we can not guarantee the 200 MHz. I am not familiar with the termination protocols with LVDS here is a document that might be helpful.  Here and here are some forum threads that also deal with this issue and should be helpful.