offset to use into blconfig

nattib

Question

Hi everyone..

I 'm trying to figure out how to make my nexys video boot from qspi flash. I tried several offsets I found around the net...the sdk project build successfully as well as the programming of FPGA and flash (following the steps in the digilent tutorial)  but...nothing happens after that. i tried the same simple project  (the gpio example) without qspi and it works when " run as configuration" mode. Now i  suspect the offset used for flash image to be guilty. (my block design is just microblaze with debug module, gpio leds, uart (which i dont use in software), and the qspi with 50khz clock).

I am still a novice at this stage so i don't know how to debug my project. My questions:

-how to estimate a good  FLASH_IMAGE_BASEADDR for my nexys video card? (in theory I can only imagine that the size of the programming files would give me a hint but even here, i don't know how to move on 

-Any simplified steps to debug the app on the board?

....Thank you guys in advance, you are doing a great job helping the rest of mortals down here....

9 answers to this question

Hi @nattib,

I was able to confirm the offset of 0x00C00000 works. Here is a completed project that puts the hello world uart template on the nexys video flash in vivado 2017.4. I will update the tutorial to reflect this. I have attached a screen shot of the tera term as well as the projects block design.

thank you,

Jon

nexys_video_qspi.jpg

nexys_video_qspi_2.jpg

Hi Jon,