Using Pmod IP cores without processor

moe

Question

Newbie here. I own Arty board, Display shield and few Pmods. So whenever I'm trying to find a newbie manual how to use these, I'm hitting Arduino/Microblaze stuff. The thing is, I'm absolutely not interested in any sort of embedded C programming as it looks like a swamp to me. I would rather concentrate on learning pure VHDL.  So I'm asking, is there newbie guidance on how to use the mentioned devices without any kind of processor or all this Digilent stuff just doesn't fit the bill?

P.S. I'm considering FPGA as a hobby only so I'm not interested in any sort of marketing material.

6 answers to this question

Hi @moe,

We have a couple different types of arty dev boards. Just the verify you have the Arty-A7-35T correct? I would look at the Nexys 4 OOB Demo as well as the link attached above for the Pmod ACL for an example of how to interact with an accelerometer. There is a vhdl project using the Pmod GYRO on the bottom of the resource center here. We are here if you need help.

On a side note: If you are not interested in learning vhdl or verilog to make the display and pmods work then you might want to try the microblaze path. The pmods and the MTDS have ip core completed and verified.Here is a partially completed microblaze project for the Arty-A7-35T and the MTDS, Pmod GYRO and the Pmod ACL2 in Vivado/SDK 2017.4. The vivado portion of the design is done. To use this project you would need to finish the sdk potion of the design.  The Getting Started with Digilent Pmod IPs and the Multi-Touch Display System web pages should be helpful.

cheers,

Jon

@moe,

I also have the Arty board and "a few pmods".  You can find my design on GitHub--I call it OpenArty.  The design does not use microBlaze at all, nor does it use the schematic design approach.  It is done entirely in RTL, to include support for the ethernet and the DDR3 SDRAM.