Frequency Limitation on Impedance tool

Cleber Borges

Question

In the AWG tool it is possible to set a wave with a minimum frequency of 100 uHz.
In the Impedance tool it is only possible to set a wave with a minimum frequency of 1 mHz.
What is the reason for this limitation for the generated wave in Impedance?
Thank you for your attention
Cleber Borges

17 answers to this question

Hi @Cleber Borges

We could reduce the minimum frequency to 100uHz.
May I ask for what purpose do you need such low frequency? 
This is almost 3 hours of signal period, so a step in Impedance Analyzer would be done in ~45 hours, ~2 days...!

The Scope sample rate minimum is about 50mHz. The IA uses at least 16 periods for each step, this for FFT windowing and averaging/precision. The Scope with buffer of 8k needs about 500 samples per period, so the minimum IA signal frequency is about 100 uHz, 1000 seconds.

Hello @attila
Good Morning
Thanks for your response and patience :-)

I am a Professor of Chemistry  (University Researcher in Brazil) and I am interested in the area of:
EIS - Electrochemical Impedance Spectroscopy  ( below SITE reference in [1] ).

In an EIS study, the frequency region of 100kHz to 1uHz is very common.
It is the current practice of this area.

The amplitude of the signal is a few millivolts. Usually it's 10mV.
So my interest in low frequencies and low amplitudes

In WaveForms Help - AD2 (item 5: AWG) says:
The resolution is ~0.7 mV for amplitudes above 1 V, and ~0.18 mV for amplitudes of 1 V and lower.

Does the AD2 and sound card achieve a higher resolution than this?
Because I see that the low frequency is not limiting but the signal resolution at 10mV seems to me to be near the limit.

I am a layman in the subject and I am still starting in EIS
but I think that the hardware and the software could also be very useful in this field :-) !!!

Thanks again for your dedication!
Cleber Borges

[1] - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dielectric_spectroscopy