CMOD A7 Programming Guidance

Benmo

Question

Hi, 

I have very little experience with programming FPGA's so recently purchased a CMOD A7 to teach myslef. I have followed the tutorial on LED Button  and it worked fine. What i would like to do next create a sketch that turns on the LED when a pin goes HIGH and then once I understand how to do this output a pin HIGH when another goes HIGH. 

Below is the file used for the LED when button is pressed.

Where can I go to learn how to do this? 

In the code below what does `timescale 1ns / 1ps do? 

`timescale 1ns / 1ps

module btn_led(
    input [1:0]btn,   // Button inputs
    output [1:0]led  // Led outputs
    );

// Assign each btn to it's respective led
    assign led = btn;

endmodule

4 answers to this question

@Benmo,

I think I answered some of your question(s) here.

As for setting an LED on a button press ... I'm not quite certain what you wish to do.  Worse, buttons can "bounce", and so they aren't necessarily the greatest beginner project.  Are you sure you don't want to build a serial port next?  Maybe set an LED any time the serial port receives an 'L' character?  I'm also very partial to the Knight Rider LED project as a beginner's challenge.

Dan

Hi @Benmo,