How to connect an external ADC to AXI Quad SPI

Mahdi

Question

Hello guys,

I am fairly new to FPGAs, but I have managed to get my Arty board to work with a bunch of Pmods through Vivado software with MicroBlaze. At this point, I am trying to use AXI Quad SPI for collecting data from an external ADC. I have my own 16-bit ADC (connected to a detector) which has an event flag pin that goes high when an event is detected. The flag is supposed to be latched high until the CPU responds and shifts out the 16-bit value. I wonder how can I implement such design inside my block diagram? I tried adding a SPI connector to my diagram, but as far as I see there is no pin on SPI block that I can connect my event flag to. Any help is highly appreciated.

Mahdi

4 answers to this question

@Mahdi

I'd recommend that you connect the flag pin to an AXI GPIO controller and the normal SPI signals to your AXI Quad SPI IP. If you want to get fancy, you can add an interrupt controller and configure the GPIO controller for interrupts so that when the flag pin goes high, the CPU can drop whatever else it's doing to respond.

A bit of a side note, but you might be able to use our Pmod Bridge IP core (configured for top-row SPI and bottom row GPIO) to connect both of the AXI controllers to a Pmod port. Most of the SPI Pmod IP cores are just wrappers for these three IP.

Thanks,

Arthur

@Mahdi,