DIGILENT PMOD SD (Rev B) compatibility with Cypress PSOC CY8CKIT-042

Ragbagger

Hi,  I'm a newbie user interested in plugging the Digilent PMOD SD Rev B? Card into the Cypress PSOC 4 CY8CKIT-042 Development Kit in order to log voltage and current data from our sailboat during the summer.

My question is that the latest Rev B PMOD SD Card now comes with a 12 pin (6x2) male connector but the Cypress PSOC 4 CY8CKIT-042 Development Kit specifies only a single female 6x1 header (J5-Digi-Key Part NumberS5481-ND_SullinsPMOD-PPPC061LGBN-RC101).  I'm thinking I could install a female 6x2 header instead in order to use your new Rev B SD Card.  Otherwise I guess I'd have to order your Rev A card if still available.

The Cypress PSOC 4 CY8CKIT-042 Development Kit is the only one that provides a Digilent Pmod Compatible I/O Header (J5). There is also an Arduino Compatible ICSP I/O Header (J12) available on the Cypress board.  If this isn't a dumb question would I be better off trying to use ICSP with your SD card instead of SPI?  Please advise.

(FYI-Most of the load comes from our 12v DC refrigeration unit that draws from a bank of four 6v golf cart batteries that we charge from a 105 watt solar panel. I've been manually logging data from 2 "Watt's Up" Watt Meters adapted from model airplane data loggers. Load and charge currents range from 1 to 20 amps over the course of day and night. The "Watts Up" Watt meters each have a diode and a precision trimmed 1 milliohm resistor in them so a 1 amp current measures as 1 millivolt.  A microprocessor in each meter sums amp hours and displays the results on a small LCD screen.)

Thx, Ragbagger

Hi @Ragbagger,