Nexys Video HDMI demo problem

john2018

Question

When I run behavioural sim on the HDMI demo file it fails with

syncasync is not compiled in library xil_defaultlib (from xvhdl.log)

(There were 4 port warnings in the log above this. regarding static names and clocks in axi_dynclk.vhd

but no other errors)

As this is my first attempt at using vivado to this point  I don't know the best way to correct this or if its

an actual error (do I have the right file version?) 

I'm using Vivado 2017.4 on linux.

Thanks

john

10 answers to this question

Hi @john2018,

The Nexys Video HDMI project was made to work with VIvado 2016.4. The vivado version makes a difference. To use this project in Vivado 2017.4. You should first double click on cleanup in the project folder of the project. Next make sure that there is contents in the repo->vivado library folder. Then use the tcl script to load the project into vivado 2017.4. Next click on tools->reports->report ip status and click to upgrade and upgrade/generate the IP cores. Next change the ddc_sda_io to DDC_sda_io and   ddc_scl_io to DDC_scl_io in the xdc. This is done because the pin names changed when we updated the DVI2RGB IP core.  Then create a wrapper and generate a bitstream.

thank you,

Jon

Thanks jon

The IP upgrades were prompted by vivado and worked automatically which is nice

so it looks like I may need to just need to do the name changes.

I'll give that a go.

FYI I'm not worried about actually using it - I'm just using it as a third party

example to work through and try to understand the processes and logs.

I picked this one because it has a fair bit going on I can learn from.

On 1/18/2018 at 6:26 PM, jpeyron said:

Hi @john2018,