Uno32 w/ pmod shield and pmodDA4

djcheezy

Question

Hey guys,

I'm currently trying to spec a project using the Uno32 with the pmod shield.  The pmod I would like to use is the DA4 digital to analog converter.

I've noticed that in Diligent's reference section there is an example code section for the pmodDA1 which gives a zip file including examples, a library, and a library manual for using the DA1.  However such resources don't exist for the DA4.  Does anyone know if that library be necessary for using the pmodDA4, or where I can find some examples of using it?  I'm not new to microcontrollers, but I am new to pmod...

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks!

8 answers to this question

Hi djcheezy,

We don't have any "official code" that I am aware of for the PmodDA4, but I have created some MPIDE code that does a short demonstration for the PmodDA4 that you can find here

I also made an instructable that explains a little more detail about how to use it here, although there is currently not a library available for the PmodDA4.

Let me know if you have any questions.

Thanks,
JColvin

Hi djcheezy,

From my understanding, a library for the PmodDA4 will be released at some point in the future along with libraries for other Pmods that do not currently have their own. I'll be updating the that Digilent is working on with the new libraries as they come out here on their respective pages.

As for the compatibility issues, I don't think there will necessarily be any. I do know that the Pmod Shield was originally based off of the chipKIT MX3 layout, so it's not very intuitive to use and from my experience is kinda frustrating, but it certainly is possible to use. I'm a fan of direct connections so I personally don't use the Pmod Shield very frequently myself, but again, that's just my personal opinion.

Let me know if you have any more questions.

Thanks,
JColvin

Hi JColvin,