VHDL UART RX for Nexys4 DDR?

DoctorWkt

Question

8 answers to this question

I did find some UART receive code and fixed a few bugs in it. I've written a VHDL project where the UART reads a character and echoes it back. However, at present I am losing about half the characters that I type with minicom on Linux.

Attached is a Zip with the project. UART_TX_CTRL.vhd comes from the Resource Center, UART_RX_CTRL.vhd is the receive code. serialport.vhd is the top-level file to generate the Nexys4 bitstream. There are also behavioural simulation testbeds uart_tx_test.vhd and uart_rx_test.vhd.

I'm still a VHDL newbie, but if someone could help me get this work then it could be the basis for a project to put into the Resource Center. Right now I have three inferred latches, and I'm not sure what I need to do to fix them.

Any help would be much appreciated! Warren

serialport.zip

Hi Warren,

Here's a nasty/inefficient implementation of a UART that should be relatively bulletproof, as long as there is minimal noise  on the line.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
--    UART_RX_CTRL.vhd -- Simple UART RX controller
library IEEE;
use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_1164.ALL;
use IEEE.NUMERIC_STD.ALL;
entity UART_RX_CTRL is
    port ( UART_RX:    in   STD_LOGIC;
           CLK:        in   STD_LOGIC;
           DATA:       out  STD_LOGIC_VECTOR (7 downto 0);
           READ_DATA:  out  STD_LOGIC := '0';
           RESET_READ: in   STD_LOGIC
    );
end UART_RX_CTRL;
architecture behavioral of UART_RX_CTRL is
   constant FREQ : integer := 100000000;
   constant BAUD : integer := 9600;
   -- Needs to hold the count of 9.5 bit-times = approx 105,000
   signal   count     : unsigned(16 downto 0) := (others => '0');
   constant sample_0  : unsigned(16 downto 0) := to_unsigned( 3 * FREQ/(BAUD*2)-1,17);
   constant sample_1  : unsigned(16 downto 0) := to_unsigned( 5 * FREQ/(BAUD*2)-1,17);