FPGA Board purchase suggestion

kampianakis

Question

Hello everyone,

I am interested in purchasing a simple developing board to develop (more or less) an RFID emulator. Basically the chip only has to drive an RF SPDT connected to one of its pins based on some logic that I will implement. Initially I will just just need to have some data (2-3 kB) saved in memory that I will encode using Hamming(16,10) and send it to the SPDT with a rate of 5Mbits/sec.

I am fairly new to FPGA developmen and although I have written some VHDL (a simulation of the tomasulo algorithm, a simple ALU during my undergrad), I consider myself a complete newbie. Do you guys have a recommendation for an FPGA dev kit with a simple programming interface(e.g. USB), preferably compatible with linux AND windows machines? I suspect that the logic that I am going to download will not occupy too much space so I don't need a large in terms of LUT's FPGa but I might need to do some signal processing so I would prefer something with the "newest technology" (talking newbish here).

Moreover, I am very concerned about the toolchain, I have used webkit in the past and, well I will just say that I don't expect much from the newer versions. Is there anything better or do you have any suggestions. I am not really concerned about paying for a 1000$ license if I can save a month of bug/driver/compatibility nonsense.

I also want to buy PC and I am looking for something that will be able to handle all the driver/connectivity/performance constrains that are associated with the toolchain. I have payed for a 1000$ Dell once with a fake PCIe4 port and I don't want to have the same experience again. see here

Thank you very much in advance

Lefteris

7 answers to this question

Hi, if I interpret correctly, I think you want to learn / refresh / learn your digital / hardware design ? Then you may need this board to do RFID design?