Help With A Zybo Video Design

digicloud14

Question

Hi all,

I have a Zybo Zynq-7000 Development board, and I'm attempting to create a design that uses the bidirectional HDMI port as an input. I want to take the HDMI input (with a desktop or laptop as the source) and write the video stream to memory, and then access the data in a Linux environment (I am using Xilinux, a graphical, Ubuntu 12.04 LTS-based Linux distribution for the Zynq-7000) to eventually send out the data over the internet. I'm having a bit of difficulty understanding how to correctly implement the design in Vivado (2014.4) which is why I'm here. I'm trying to use as many standard Xilinx or Digilent IP cores as possible to make the design straightforward since I am new to FPGA and Vivado. After wading through tons of documentation, I feel like I have a decent understanding of the general design flow for a video design, but as I said I do not have much experience here so I am looking for someone to hopefully point out my mistakes or point me in the right direction.

My current design uses a DVI2RGB IP core provided by Digilent (found here: https://github.com/DigilentInc/vivado-library/tree/master/ip/dvi2rgb_v1_4) which is then interfaced with the Xilinx Video In To AXI4-Stream IP Core (documentation found here: http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/ip_documentation/v_vid_in_axi4s/v3_0/pg043_v_vid_in_axi4s.pdf), which then goes to the Xilinx AXI Video Direct Memory Access (VDMA) IP core (documentation found here: http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/ip_documentation/axi_vdma/v6_2/pg020_axi_vdma.pdf). Finally, the output of the VDMA is interfaced with an AXI Memory Interconnect to connect it all to the processing system. I do not want to output the video stream that is being written to memory to a display output such as VGA, simply access the video data in Linux and send it out over the internet.

A few questions: