Using 10Gb/Sec SFP board with Genesys2

sagiFTW

Question

Hello,

I'm a student and I'm designing a project which transmits data from a dual ADC board (ADS4249) over optical fiber and then reconstruct it to Analog signal using DAC3283 DAC evaluation board by TI. 
Both of those evaluation boards got a FMC to DAC/ADC adapter:
http://www.ti.com/tool/FMC-DAC-ADAPTER
http://www.ti.com/tool/fmc-adc-adapter

TI claims that it is for Xilinx FNC connector. I wonder if anyone tried to connect those boards to Digilent Genesys 2 evaluation board FMC connector?
Are they pin compatible? Is there any source code? TI provide source code for Altera FPGAs only.

The other question is about interfacing to SFP+ optics:
I would like to interface a SFP+ cage to every board. There are no dedicated connectors and I cannot use the FMC connector because the ADC or DAC would be connected to it.

There are many SFP+ boards with SMA connectors for the 10.3 GHz signals and simple 2 row connectors for the I2C interface.
Is there any place in the Digilent Genesys 2 board to connect 2 cables for the 10.3 signals? 
Please consider the fact that the FMC connector would be probably occupied by the ADC or DAC card and I cannot use FMC to SFP boards..

If those lines are already connected to other function on this board - like USB or VGA etc. then I don't mind disconnecting them.

I see that the FPGA has "2FF" speed grade so it has transceivers which support 10.3GHz signals.

As for the I2C signals needed for programming the SFP - Can I use standard GPIO lines? From where can I connect them?

I would appreciate your detailed response.

SagiFTW

11 answers to this question

Hello,

I'm a student and I'm designing a project which transmits data from a dual ADC board (ADS4249) over optical fiber and then reconstruct it to Analog signal using DAC3283 DAC evaluation board by TI. 
Both of those evaluation boards got a FMC to DAC/ADC adapter:
http://www.ti.com/tool/FMC-DAC-ADAPTER