How does a company-less hobbyist like me get access to the tools required to program this?

jeremy2002

Question

Hi. I am new to when it comes to FPGAs, but since I knew about all the interesting stuff you could do with one, I just had to get one.

Now that I have my Zynq-7000, I am completely clueless on how to start programming it.

Appearantelly, you have to have this software called Vivado, so I signed up for a account, and tried to download it. But...

Suddenly it's asking me for a Company Name?? I don't even have a company!

Is there any other software to program this thing without having to establish a company and then hope that it passes as valid? This is a huge turnoff for me.

12 answers to this question

@jeremy2002,

While there are other synthesis tools you can use, I'm not aware of any other place and route tools --- which means you are pretty much stuck with Vivado as your only FPGA solution for the Zynq board for the time being.

As for "signing up" for Vivado, Relax ... your just filling in a data entry field that no one ever looks at.  I think the form is there for some legal/ITAR purpose.  You can either leave the item blank, or claim that you work for "Jeremy and Co."  Understand that there are many, *MANY* hobbyists using these boards--worldwide even.

Dan

2 hours ago, D@n said:

@jeremy2002,

While there are other synthesis tools you can use, I'm not aware of any other place and route tools --- which means you are pretty much stuck with Vivado as your only FPGA solution for the Zynq board for the time being.

As for "signing up" for Vivado, Relax ... your just filling in a data entry field that no one ever looks at.  I think the form is there for some legal/ITAR purpose.  You can either leave the item blank, or claim that you work for "Jeremy and Co."  Understand that there are many, *MANY* hobbyists using these boards--worldwide even.

Dan

Ok, thanks for making me feel confident! :)

@jeremy2002,