Need to make a deciscion based on my back ground NEXYS 2 OR 4

LDS

Question

Hi I am new here. My background is I used ISE 10 but mainly used the schematic capture and the FSM software for my designs.  I used a little VHDL and Verilog from the library to form some blocks for my schematic projects.  For the most part my designs have all centered on Schematics.  I have some unique design blocks for full projects I did with the finite State machine software. I have in stock has a Nexys 2 board with a Spartan 3500E on it and I was planning to use for a demo model when I found out this board is being discontinued. I like the 7A100 you have on the Nexys 4. This will multiply my capabilities compared the old board I had. I also downloaded the Vivado series design tool and found it very powerful in some aspects to ISE. I lost my connection to someone that can write code and Tcl script. I need to get this demonstration model done ASAP so I have the following questions.

1. I see you cannot migrate schematic files to Vivado. I don’t want to migrate complete projects just the blocks of circuits in them especially the ones I generated from the FSM software which is converted to VHDL and Verilog. Can I make custom IP’s from them and use them in Vivado? Are there files I can take from my old ISE project circuit blocks and can use in my IP catalog and Vivado?  In the IP catalog I don’t see some circuits I need in my design.
  2. I don’t have time for a learning curve. Is the Vivado software a software that requires more knowledge and experience concerning writing code than I have (which is limited)? If I can handle the learning curve using the Vivado design tools in a descent amount of time, I want to use the Nexys 4 with 7A100 in it. If I can’t then I will have to use the Nexys 2 board that has. the Spartan 3500E
  3. What kind of prerequisites in learning do I need to perform a successful project in Vivado?

Thanks

Rex

2 answers to this question

Hello,