Anvyl Spartan-6 FPGA Trainer Board

amkichu

Question

20 answers to this question

On 12/1/2017 at 8:16 PM, jpeyron said:

Hopefully this will help you with your project.

Thanks @jpeyron

It helped a lot for me. I have the task list like this. I will send 1 at first, then 2, then 3 and I have a switch that executes based on the received data. I have my customized code for nios2_socket_server example like:

while (conn->rx_wr_pos < conn->rx_rd_pos);

// commands are separated by new lines. Get rid of them.
    c = (char) *conn->rx_rd_pos++;

Nr = c - '0'; 

//printf2("Menu number %i - ", Nr);

switch (Nr)

Can I get the echo code modified like this flow (void SSS_exec_command(SSSConn* conn) function) as I am not an expert in C programming?

niosII_simple_socket_server.c

49 minutes ago, jpeyron said:

what is the difference between these two approaches

My question was: why there was a need for serial port connection to establish before an ethernet connection to be verified via Telnet in the first approach though it worked well with the latter?

Hi @amkichu,

I not sure exactly what you are asking "what is the difference between these two approaches". I know that Putty can use different hardware on the PC. Putty can communicate through the ethernet as well as the usb uart. Ethernet is a more complicated communication to set up that can move large amounts of data at high speeds. UART is a less complicated communication type to set up that is not typically used with transferring large amounts of data and is much slower then ethernet.  It depends on your needs/ability as to which communication type is right for you. I would suggest to look here and here for more specific information about ethernet and uart communication.

thank you,

Jon