Programmable power supplies in EE board

Alex

Question

Hi,I am new to learn Electronics and testing. In the EE board, one feature is V+ and V- programmable voltage/current supplies of up to +/-9V and up to 1.5 A and I did try the Waveforms demo EE Board voltage. I can adjust the voltage and current output by the drop down manual in V+ or V- and the waveform is plotted. However, how can I change those waveform? How can I program the power supplies? 

I looked through the help but there isn't any example. 

3 answers to this question

A classical programmable (desktop) power supply allows users to set a voltage and a current limit, unlike fixed power supply (like a phone charger) which have fixed voltage and current limit.

Knobs, buttons and displays on the power supply panel are enough to say that the voltage and current are programmable. Some supplies have additional communication interfaces (USB, RS232, IEEE488, etc.), allowing a PC to take control from the panel and set the voltage and current limit. Obviously, a program needs to run on the PC to send the appropriate commands via the interface.  

With the EE board, the HW panel is replaced by the WaveForms GUI, but the features are the same: you set a voltage (limit) and a current (limit). The actual relation between the voltage and current is given by the load; if resistive, then U=R*I. Either U or I reach the "programmed" limit, setting the actual behavior.

EE board and WaveForms offer more that simple "programmability":

ONCE: you have the equivalent of a HW interface (like RS232 or other) - this is the API set provided by the SDK. You can use that to control the voltage from a user application - similar to whatever PC program you would use to send RS232 commands.