Newbie Question on a missing menu option in SDK

loberman

Question

Hello

After working in ISE, I am new to Vivado.

I built a Microblaze design successfully and I am now starting to work on getting Linux running on my Arty.

I am at the point where I cloned the device_tree git repo and all the references show this flow but after launching the SDK from Vivado I cannot see the menu option Xilinx Tools.

The SDK has a lot of buttons grayed out. I was able to generate a hello world with no issue and run that on the board.

• # Otherwise for SDK 2014.2 use this repo:
    git clone git://github.com/Xilinx/device-tree-xlnx.git
  • Add the BSP repository in SDK (for SDK 2014.2 and later select "device-tree-xlnx" from the checked out git area):
    SDK Menu: Xilinx Tools > Repositories > New... (<bsp repo>) > OK                              ****** Where do I find this
  • Create a Device Tree Board Support Package (BSP):
    SDK Menu: File > New > Board Support Package > Board Support Package OS: device-tree > Finish

Apologies again if this is me being an idiot again

3 answers to this question

I meant to also add this background information, as I was following this.

File > Launch SDK. Once Eclipse is opened, go to Xilinx Tools > Repositories to include the new folder as a repository.
Then click New ... and find the extracted folder.

Go to File > New > Board Support Package and at the bottom, select device_tree. Default settings are ok to continue so click on Finish to create the project.

I think I solved this with this answer record:

Re: Missing top menu bar in Vivado HLS and SDK (Ubuntu 14.04, Vivado 2015.2)

‎06-10-2016 01:20 PM

I just encountered this problem also.

After talking with someone else that was using SDK and Ubuntu, we resolved the problem. Thank you Bill!