PmodSWT connection to Spartan 3e

James6

Question

I am totally new to the Pmods so please bear with me.  I have a Spartan 3e-1600 development board and I wrote a very simple Half Adder program.  I used the slide switches on the board as inputs and the board's LEDs as outputs.  Everything worked fine.  I changed the User Constraint File to have the input go to the J2 Expansion connector and plugged in a PmodSWT but it doesn't read my inputs now.  I have included the Verilog file and the User Constraints file.  What am I missing?

Half_Adder.v

Half_Adder_Constraints.ucf

5 answers to this question

Hi @james,

Here is the resource page for the Spartan 3E-1600. Looking on page 165 of the users guide here.  It shows the constrains for J2 that are independent of the fx2 connector to be as follows:

# ==== 6-pin header J2 ==== #

These are independent of the FX2 connector

#NET "J2<0> " LOC = "P12" | IOSTANDARD = LVTTL | SLEW = SLOW | DRIVE = 6 ;

#NET "J2<1>" LOC = "N12" | IOSTANDARD = LVTTL | SLEW = SLOW | DRIVE = 6 ;

#NET "J2<2>" LOC = "V6" | IOSTANDARD = LVTTL | SLEW = SLOW | DRIVE = 6 ;

#NET "J2<3>" LOC = "V5" | IOSTANDARD = LVTTL | SLEW = SLOW | DRIVE = 6 ;

I would try these constraints as well.

cheers,

Jon

@James6,

Why not plug this into one of the PMod ports on the board?  The PModSWT requires VCC and GND inputs, as shown by the schematic, so it doesn't make sense to have the I/O wires connected without power.  Check out the PModSWT schematic.  There you'll see that all the switch does is to connect the corresponding PMod output pin to either the power or the ground wire depending on how your throw the switch.

Dan

Thank you for the quick reply Dan. I plugged the PmodSWT into the J2 expansion port which is what I think you are referring to as "one of the Pmod ports". I then tried J1 but neither one worked. I hope those are the ports you are referring to.