Analog2 for 2 photon microscopy?

amchagas

Question

Hi everyone!

I can't say I'm a user yet, as I'm still in the phase of figuring out if Analog2 is suitable for a project we want to develop at work, so I have a couple of questions (don't even know if this is the right place to ask them, or if they were asked before... If they were, I would be thankful for a pointer to the right thread!)

I'm a researcher in a lab in Germany and we are trying to develop a new version of the system we use to control our 2 photon microscope. In our current system, we have two NI boards that allow us to record 4 analog signals at 1MHz each, output 3 analog signals at lower rates (20kHz would be fine) and control and record some digital signals. Would be possible to develop a similar application with the analog2 discovery boards (or some other board from Digilent)?

We are also saving all data to a hard drive in the computer and displaying data online, so another question is, is it possible to control the board with custom software?

Thanks in advance!

Andre

5 answers to this question

Your signal requirements certainly seem to be in line with the Analog Discovery capabilities. Digilent has a software SDK for the original Analog DIscovery though I haven't used it. I'd be surprised if there wasn't one for the version 2 device.