Sending data from Nexys 4 DDR to PC

deltaepsilon3

Question

Hello,

I have a Nexys 4 DDR FPGA, and I want to send data from the FPGA to my PC. The problem is, I am collecting the data (an external signal) at 100 kHz, and UART is too slow to send that in real-time. (To clarify, sending data in real-time is not necessary, but see my second point.) I have two ideas, both of which I am struggling to implement.

1. Ethernet is fast enough to send the data in real-time. However, since I am quite new to FPGAs, I am having trouble with using the Ethernet protocol. I tried following https://reference.digilentinc.com/learn/programmable-logic/tutorials/nexys-4-ddr-getting-started-with-microblaze-servers/start, but I don't want to implement an entire microcontroller, and it seems difficult to connect it with other VHDL code that I have.

2. I am also considering collecting some data beforehand, then sending it through UART. However, I need to collect at least four seconds of data before sending, and I don't know how to store that much data on the FPGA. I looked at https://reference.digilentinc.com/learn/programmable-logic/tutorials/nexys-4-ddr-sram-to-ddr-component/start for more memory but couldn't find any example code or figure out how to make it work.

Does anyone have any pointers for how I should proceed? Is there any alternative for fast communication between the FPGA and a PC?

6 answers to this question

Hi deltaepsilon3,

You can talk directly to the Ethernet interfaces - here is something for the Arty Board, showing the level of complexity needed

http://hamsterworks.co.nz/mediawiki/index.php/ArtyEthernet

For Gigabit Ethernet it is much the same

http://hamsterworks.co.nz/mediawiki/index.php/GigabitTX

With a bit of experimentation you can replace the data payload with your samples, and implement some form of flow control (so you only send packets when you have data to send.

Mike

@deltaepsilon3,