chcollin

Atlys + ISE 14.7 : HDMI demo problem

Question

Hi all FPGA fans and gurus !

First off : I am a total noob at all those FPGA and electronics things. So please be patient with me :)

Now, for my problem :

I recently got a second hand Atlys Board. My goal is to program it so that it can realtime rotate some hdmi input to its output. The input is a 640x480@60hz signal. The goal is to rotate it and output a 720p@60hz signal (640 pixels fit in 720, with black borders 40 pixels wide each side).

So, as I don't know anything about FPGA programming, I downloaded the following EDK HDMI demo on the Atlys resource page, I thought it would be a good start to understand how hdmi inputs and outputs work with the Atlys board :

https://reference.digilentinc.com/_media/atlys/atlys/atlys_hdmi_plb_demo.zip

To build the project, I'm using ISE 14.7, fresh install (Windows 7).

Actually I can build the project and program the Atlys with it, and even run it. However it seems it doesn't work OK. I looks like there are problem with interrupts, especially with the push buttons on the board.

Wichever button I push, the callback function is never called.

However, I have evidence the program does run. If, for instance, I change the main function to make it draw thing on the screen, it does it. I can also print things in the virtual terminal of the SDK. For instance, if I do a xil_printf at the beginnig of main(), things print in the terminal. However If I put a xil_printf at the beginning of the button handler function, whichever button i press nothing prints ... reason why I think it might be an interrupt problem.

Needless to say that Adept button test is OK.