Adept SDK

zygot

Question

The documentation for using the SDK software libraries and sample HDL is, let's go with sparse to be kind. I've been using it for a few years but my last project has resulted in unexpected behaviour. I have a design that uses both dpmiref and stmctrl sample HDL components and want to access both in my PC application. I don't get any errors, but when I execute DeppDisable() and then DstmEnable() I sometimes have the contents of epp registers lost. Then, when I try and do a DstmIOEX() transfer UsbStmen never gets asserted and the application hangs until the library code times out. I've done this in the past with success but just am not finding what's different in the current project that is causing me grief. Does Digilent have any useful examples (HDL and C code) using both synchronous an asynchronous USB data transfers in one design? Also, can I really do overlapped synchronous IO? The API suggests yes, the documentation and my experimentation no.

6 answers to this question

Atilla,

I've gone through the code in your "unofficial" package and am still puzzled about U1-INT0#, which on the Atlys board is assigned to the FPGA pin "A5". You say that it isn't used, but looking at your StreamIOEx model EppReg.vhd this pin is in fact being used as a reset driven by the CY68013A ( I was assuming that it might be an input to the USB controller....). So what causes the CY68013A to assert this signal?

Are the library files in the "unofficial" package the same ones as the latest official SDK release?

I compiled the StreamIOEx HDL and console application using VS2010 and indeed the source appears to result in the expected behavor. I guess that you are not as bothered by ISE complaining that your EppReg code uses a gated clock ( EPPDSTB) as I am.

It appears that Digilent is abandening the  CY68013A ( I suppose for cost reasons ) since all of the newer boards use a different device.Is this correct?

thanks for your kind assistance.