Prototype for thesis - tarjet selection, help!

electronic-tree

Question

Hi, I'm doing my thesis is about a prototype of a greenhouse, the area is as follows: 9.8 feet (long) x 4.9 feet (wide) x 6.56 feet (high). I am going to buy a card to develop an embedded system in which the logic of control and monitoring, temperature, humidity, and irrigation system will be programmed. My question is, which platform would you use for this type of projects? nexys 4, zybo zynq-7000 or other?, what advantages would the platform they select, with the same development with a fpga digilent card as NI MYRIO or single rio board ?, I hope they can help.

-Time limit between 300 and 700 dollars for the card
-The signals to measure 8 temperature signals (2), relative humidity (2), conductivity (2), ph (2).
- need to control 4 actuators irrigation system (1), ventilation system (2), radiator (1)
-For the monitoring will be a user session interface.
- It is necessary to register about 9 data, mentioned above and additionally the speed of time.
"Supervision will be done from my laptop.

5 answers to this question

@electronic-tree

In order to make informed decision you need to define I/O requirements: interfaces with actuators, computer, sensors, total number of lines.

In my opinion using any FPGA for such slow and trivial application is an overkill. Any processor board will be able to do everything. Besides there are plenty of open source projects and libraries available. I would add ZigBee to make the system wireless and solar panel for recharging. Also my choice would be a board which has the most of examples and documentation. This will free you for working on control algorithms and data storage instead of solving hardware issues.

Good luck!

On 6/30/2017 at 2:47 AM, jpeyron said:

Hi @electronic-tree,