Running the Zybo examples in Vivado 2017.1

anuar

Question

Hello,

I am new to Zybo/FPGA and currently going thru the tutorial that's available.

Currently at the DMA tutorial.

From what I understand, there are 2 method to do the project, using SDK or Vivado.

When I tried using SDK, I have a whole bunch of missing inlcudes like xparameters.h, xgpio.h, xstatus.h (to name a few). So, I went the Vivado route.

When attempting to run the tcl script, I had errors on line 67. update_ip_catalog -rebuild. Was able to resolve that by using the vivado library. Now, I'm stuck with errors stating that IPs are locked.

I am trying to follow this recommendation to change the version, but, I can't find the system.tcl file. Any suggestions?

7 answers to this question

@anuar,

First of all you need to understand that Vivado is a tool which primary focus is configuring the chip hardware, both the ARM that is PS and the FPGA which is PL. This might require HDL programming but not always. In the case of the DMA example I believe HDL programming is not necessary. Vivado generates important hardware definition files, for example xparameters.h, for the EDK.

The main purpose of the EDK is programming of processors either ARM or Microblaze if they are included in the project.

Anyway, Vivado and EDK are complmentary and should be used together in sequence. The 2017.1 version works fine for me so far in manual mode. TCL scripts are typically written for the specific Vivado version and quit if the version does not match. You can try to edit the version in the script but it might not work.

When starting EDK from Vivado give it some time to load all libraries and .h files generated in the Vivado otherwise you might see error messages and warnings in the C-code.

I also recommend to watch training videos and read Xilinx tutorials. It will save you from a great deal of frustration.

Good luck!

Hi @anuar,