Error in SDK using ARTY for First Time

Sam Bergami

Question

Hi I am going through Arty-Getting Started with Microblaze tutorial and I'm receiving an error in SDK. This is my first time using the Arty I have previously only worked with the Zedboard. Before startign, I had to add the ARTY to my boards in Vivado and I was then able to complete everything in Vivado. When trying to export to SDK and create the new application project i receive the following error:

Error generating bsp sources. Failed in generating sources.

Please help

9 answers to this question

Hi @Sam Bergami,

Since you posted about installation issues with waveforms using ubuntu here. Are you using Ubuntu for vivado as well? If so here is a forum thread that should help you. Also what version of Vivado are you using? Also were you root when you installed the software (waveforms included in this question)? When I installed vivado in ubuntu i also had to install the cable drivers. Here is a guide to help with this if you haven't already done this.

cheers,

Jon

@jpeyron We are using the latest version of Vivado and yes we did install the cable drivers when we initially downloaded vivado. I was not in root when installing Waveforms because it won't allow us to. The downloads appear in red in the terminal and we are unable to access them. I'm not sure why because we selected the proper downloads for Linux and Ubuntu.

@Sam Bergami,

The cable driver installation will want to modify your udev rules so that the Arty can be recognized as such and not as an FTDI device.  If you don't install the cable drivers as root, you may struggle to even "see" the Arty on your system.  Here's a discussion of the solution for that problem.

That's not why you are unable to generate bsp sources.  I'm not sure what's causing that.

You can, however, use the Arty without using either the BSP's or microblaze ... see the OpenArty project as an example.

Dan

This is the exact error that is in the SDK log