How to interpret pmod mic3 data?

skandigraun

Question

Hi,

this is my first try to interact with a chip, so please bear with me if my question is dumb. I'm using Basys3 with the pmod MIC3.

The ADC gives back 4 leading zeros and 12 bits of data. I can get this out of pmod. But how to interpret this data? I understand the main principle of the ADC - I get a relative value between 0 and 2^12. The pmod's reference says that this value is representative of the volume and frequency. I assume that this is a kind of composite value, like X high bits are the frequency, and the rest are for volume, or similar - but couldn't find anything about such things. I was looking at all reference documentation and sample codes I could find, but maybe I was looking at wrong places.

How do I get the volume and frequency separately out of the retrieved 12 bit value?

Thanks

Edited by skandigraun

7 answers to this question

@skandigraun,

I'm not a physicist, so others might correct me here, but has I understand things audio waves are compression waves.  To "read" them, you need to create a diaphragm that will move as the compression wave moves, and then you can read the position of this diaphragm over time.  The PMic does this with a MEMS microphone.  Consider this to be the meaning of those twelve bits.

Be careful with that twelfth  bit: it is a sign bit.  You may need to extend it to the left some to understand it properly.  For example, { int v; v = (sample<<20)>>12; }.

It is possible to get volume by simply averaging the absolute values of the various samples.  While crude, the estimate should work.