genesys2 flash problem (help me pls..)

spike556

Question

i am a student.

my lab writes a riscv cpu core and a spi controller and they ask me to test it in FPGA.(it passed verification)

i want to access the flash to fetch instruction and CPU will execute it, at least, i expected that.

but the instruction is always 0x00000000 !!

(i used chipscope to detect the signal)

(i used startupe2 to access CCLK)

it seems like i didn't access the flash, can anyone help me?

thanks a lot !!

pls save me....

@D@n

sorry for replying you late.

Thanks for your advice. Yes, i do the configuration via QSPI successfully when my configuration mode is in QSPI mode.(does this mean i can only access flash when my configuration mode is in QSPI mode?)

i have tried my code in flash behavior verilog model provided by the manufacture .it works fine.(s25fl256.v) 

@D@n

still don't work..

i used an oscillograph to detect the spi_sck and IO0 pin outside the flash, they seem right.

but there is no signal in IO1(it remains zero)

how can this be?.. (probably flash is broken?)

Can you help me?

@spike556,

Can you program a configuration into the flash and read it on startup?  Perhaps something that just blinks an LED?  If so, your flash isn't broken.  Even better, if you do the configuration via the 4-wire QSPI protocol, then you'll know that all the wires are working and present.

Have you tried your code with a flash simulator to know if it works or not?  That would give you much more access into knowing what's going wrong.

Dan

@spike556,

Is the behavior verilog model sufficient for you to be able to boot your CPU in simulation with it?  I mean .... there's a lot of stuff/steps involved in starting up a soft-core CPU on an FPGA.  Is the verilog model you have sufficient to get you from power on to the first couple instructions to know that it works?

Dan

we use a button to boot the cpu from flash.(our RTL code defines that)