USB Keyboard on Baysy3

joemost

Question

Hi Everyone,

I am trying to use the keyboard input on a basys 3. I am new to this and trying to do this in verilog.. so there wasn't a ton of documentation. I tried to setup the keyboard with the board, but nothing seemed to lightup on the keyboard (Usually the caps lock key lights up so I figured it may or may not be an issue

However, the keyboard does not seem to respond..

I realized I have a USB Keyboard.. Is that a problem? I also attatched the code just in case.. but I can't find an issue in that

keyboard.v

2 answers to this question

@joemost,

Yes, a USB keyboard should work just fine with the Basys3.

I, personally, haven't tested the Basys3 with a USB keyboard, but I have tested it with the PS/2 mouse and so ... I know a little about it.  (Two keyboards just didn't fit on my desk as easily as two mice.)

Looking over the code you posted, though, I thought I might make some comments:

1. Many FPGA neophytes try to create a clock via the method you did with your DOWNCOUNTER, and then try to trigger off of that clocks positive edge.  You did not.  Well done!  Your code for dropping the sample rate was almost exactly like I would've done it.
  2. You do, however, have a problem with metastability in your code.  It might not get you, but then again, it might.  To avoid this, take your two PS2 inputs and clock them twice before using them.  As in: always @(posedge CLK) begin r_ps2_dat <= PS2_DATA; ck_dat <= r_ps2_dat; end  You should do this with both the clock and data lines.  Without doing this, your code will work most of the time (the PS2 interface is slow), but it will experience random failures.  You should get in the habit of always clocking any asynchronous inputs (asynchronous to your CLK that is) like this twice upon arrival.