hreatx

how to connect joystick2 to zedborad

Question

Hi,

I am a newbie on zedboard and I have several questions on Pmod joystick2.

I bought a Pmod joystick 2, and want to integrate it into my Zedboard project using vivado. However, I cannot find any tutorial on it. I search it on the net, and get something like this:

http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-Use-the-PmodJSTK-With-the-Basys3-FPGA/?ALLSTEPS

It seems that it only works on Basys3, because on zedboard we need to use IP to connect Pmod to zedboard, right? If I need to create IP to use JSTK2, what should I do? Actually I am not familiar with IP on vivado..

4 answers to this question

@hreatx,

I'm not sure this will help much, but "IP" stands for Intellectual Property.  Any thing you build will be your own IP.  Any components you use from Xilinx will be their IP.  I'm not sure why custom blocks within a design are being called IP, but ... they are.

The IP for the joystick in the example above is written in Verilog.  Nothing keeps you from adding a Verilog only design to the ZedBoard.  You might find you can debug it using the LED's, without integrating it further into your board.

As a more practical alternative, here's a link on how to create a custom block of your own within your ZedBoard.  You should be able to just merge the two.  If not, here's a link to a scope that you can use to figure out what is (or isn't) working within your design.

Dan

Hi @hreatx,