Use Multi Touch Display Shield on Arty-Board

Peter Chan

Question

Hello :

I would like to know how to use Multi-Touch Display Shield(MTDS) on Arty-Board. I've found the wiki page of the MTDS, but there are only some schematics and library documents.  Then I've found pmod-MTDS IP on digilent github , but don't know how to work with it cause My MTDS is a shield, rather than a pmod.   

I'm new to this, I would appreciate if someone can provide a sample project of "MTDS on Arty Board". That'll help a lot.

Thank you !

12 answers to this question

@Peter Chan,

Ouch!  Yeah, you're right.  The Digilent folks have usually been really good at documentation relative to their peers, but this looks like a significant oversight.  Pages with broken links to manuals, selling the product for the Arty and yet only providing a demo for the Arduino boards, yeah, it's a rough start.  (This particular MTDS page is particularly pitiful.)  :o

Still, you should have enough to get started. The arduino software (found linked from this page) appears to be complete.  Sure, I understand you are building for the Arty and not the Arduino, but ... with a suitable SPI transport core built, it should be possible to (re)implement those libraries for your processor of choice on the Arty, no?  You've also got the schematic, and ... you can usually look up the various IC's on those to get part numbers that can then be used to find spec's.  So, here's another ouch: none of the IC's have part numbers with them.  :o  Ouch again.  

Looks like the sales staff got ahead of the product staff this time.

Dan

P.S.  I expect the Digilent staff will get to work on their documentation quickly ...

Hi @Peter Chan,