Forwarding raw waveform data to C/C++ code?

shabbirahmed

Question

Hi all, 

I am new to AD2 so this might be a trivial question. 

I have a project where i want to extract raw waveform data from AD2 and feed it to my program which is C/C++ and do my own processing on it. I need this to happen live when i am connected to the signal. As far as i have seen it is possible to save a captured signal as image or values statically but i need to to happen live. 

Is it possible to so this?

Thanks in advance, 

Shabbir

10 answers to this question

Hi @shabbirahmed,

Unfortunately certain features are limited as stated in the reference manual. Streaming is one of those features. In the Waveforms reference manual under oscilloscope in section 2 control it states:  Stream: allows capturing large number of samples at lower rates. In this mode, the samples are streamed through the USB limiting the rate (depending on the system and other connected devices) at about 1M samples/sec. 

thank you,

Jon

2 hours ago, jpeyron said:

Hi @shabbirahmed,

Unfortunately certain features are limited as stated in the reference manual. Streaming is one of those features. In the Waveforms reference manual under oscilloscope in section 2 control it states:  Stream: allows capturing large number of samples at lower rates. In this mode, the samples are streamed through the USB limiting the rate (depending on the system and other connected devices) at about 1M samples/sec. 

thank you,

Jon

@jpeyron

So if i were to say do some processing on a 10MHz signal with >20MHz triggered sampling and then spit out the results to the laptop will i be able to get up to the these sampling speeds? My priority is the sampling and processing of the signals, not so much the streaming, so even if i am able to process the signal when i see one on the line and then just retrieve the data to my laptop i am good.

Thanks,

Shabbir

Hi @shabbirahmed,