UNO32 motor shield buttons

joesanford

Question

I am new to all this.  I want to run two dc motors but I want to start them after I press button btn1 and stop after btn2 is pressed.

This is my first try.

#include <MotorShield.h>     
// the setup routine runs once when you press reset:
void setup()
{
  // initialize serial communication at 9600 bits per second:
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

// the loop routine runs over and over again forever:
void loop()
{
  // read the input pin:
  int buttonState = readButton(btn1);
  // print out the state of the button:
  Serial.println(buttonState);
  delay(1);        // delay in between reads for stability
}

it doesn't like bnt or readButton.

4 answers to this question

Hi joesanford,

Welcome to our forum! 

The MotorShield library has a specific set of functions that it has available to use. Unfortunately, we do not have any documentation specific towards this library, so I'll be sure to amend this in the near future.

But back to your question. The reason that MPIDE is not liking readButton is because the MotorShield library has its own set of functions that it uses. If we looked through the MotorShield.cpp library, we would see that one of the functions that it uses a function called "readbuttons" to read the state of the two buttons through I2C. This function passes the two measured values of button 1 and button 2 (respectively) to the two global variables that will need to be declared in your sketch. I'll post a snippet of code later on in this post with comments so you can see what I'm referring to.