AXI read rates

StiNKy

Question

Hi everyone.

I'm fairly new to FPGAs, I grabbed myself a Zybo Zynq and am enjoying it thoroughly so far.

However, I've created my own AXI master and hooked it up to HP0 on the Zynq. I issue 3 read requests in quick succession, but receive the results about 14 clocks apart.

I'm wondering how I can get these results faster. I can deal with the latency between request and result, but one read result every 14 clocks is slower than I was hoping.

My AXI master is running off FCLK0 (100MHz), and have tried changing the clock rate, but saw absolutely no change. Very confusing.

I realise if I issue burst reads I could get higher throughput, but unfortunately I have to do scatter reads.

I've attached my project if anyone has the time to check it out.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

test2.zip

4 answers to this question

@StiNKy,

14 cycles per operation?  Let me guess, you were trying to access DDR3 memory?  Still, 14 cycles seems kind of fast.