Beginner Q : Scope connections for the Discovery 2

Dig2

Question

Hi,

I recently purchased the Discovery 2 and the BNC adapter board (Pro kit). Could someone please clarify where the positive and negative connectors for the scope should be attached when monitoring an AC signal (+/- 12 V). Should the negative connector be attached to the negative rail? And when using the BNC adapter board should the negative connector be connected to ground (because the inputs are not differential)?

I wanted to confirm the connections as I had a mishap and toasted my pcb's power supply whilst trying to use the waveform generator and the oscilloscope. Just trying to debug why that happened. I had the oscilloscope's negative connector connected to ground.

3 answers to this question

Hi, i am not a digilent expert but experienced the same problem as you have so i thought i give you the topics that helped me. 

This helped me, I use the USB-isolator which you can see at the end of the video.

Hey Dig2,

So to your questions, the negative (alligator clip) of the BNC probe should not be connected arbitrarily, since it could lead to either erroneous measurements at best or damage to your devices at worst. A way I try to think about it is to ask what voltage do you want to measure? For instance, if you are measuring an AC output signal that you expect to swing between +/- 12V, you would not want to connect your reference point (alligator clip) to a voltage other 0V. If you connected your reference to -3V hypothetically, once the output signal reached its max you would actually get a reading of 12V - (-3V) = 15V, and the minimum output would read -12V - (-3V) = -9V. This is of course just a hypothetical example of an erroneous measurement.