Max32 & Wifishield, pins going high for no reason

intwarrior

Question

When I connect the Wi-Fi Shield to the Max32 board and print out the state of the pins on the Wi-Fi Shield Vs the I/O shield I get completely different reactions, even though they connect to the same exact slots except for A6-A11 which aren't being used on the Wi-Fi shield & are left unconnected.

With the I/O shield the pins are all low (as they should be, there is nothing in the code to make them go high.

With the Wi-Fi Shield, & the same code, there are 3 pins that light up for no reason (the ones associated w/ Btn2&4 & SW1 on the I/O board.

What could this be? I am just learning.

Thanks so much for the help!

3 answers to this question

@intwarrior,

The natural state of pins should be a "high impedence" state, allowing any other piece of connected hardware to "drive" the pin.  Within an MCU, such a configuration may be as an "input" port.  However, if nothing is driving the line, there's no reason why it should read either one or zero. 

I can tell you sad stories from college regarding trying to read from a line that wasn't being driven, and then trying to make sense of what was there.  (I think I had the address wires of a memory chip connected to the data lines or some such.)  The result wasn't all zeros or all ones, but rather what I had last placed there--the unconnected lines were acting like a capacitor.  I had thought the lines were connected to a memory chip that was driving them and ... fried a couple memory chips due to miswiring them before the instructor figured out what was going on.  My point?  If nothing's driving the line, you might be receiving signals from ... I don't know, another world?  :P