PmodDA2 & PmodAD1 Data Acquisition ZEDBOARD

paolo_unice

Question

22 answers to this question

D@n and @jpeyron

Personally I like ongoing technical discussion and find it useful. However, since no requirements were specified it might be missing the point.

If the ADC sampling rate is low (below 100kHz or so) even single CPU can do everything. I believe that the main intent of Xilinx creating Vivado and putting hard cores on FPGA is to employ high level programming and minimize HDL which is almost impossible to maintain for large projects.

Thank you all!

@jpeyron and @paolo_unice,

Are we making this problem harder than it is?  Why not just create a simple FIFO in block RAM, make it into a piece of AXI IP--could even be AXI lite if you wante, and have the ARM read from it and dump it into the DDR3 memory?  Further, while I'm not an expert on interrupts for the ARM, if you created an interrupt and an interrupt controller for it, you could then have complete control over where the values were written to memory, how many values were written, how long they were written for, etc.  If you wanted to get one stop more complicated, you could even connect this to a DMA controller on the ARM and then have the ARM automatically move the data around for you.

I mean ... the reality is that the second part of his task requires a CPU, so why not engage the CPU on the first part of the task?

Dan

@D@n and @paolo_unice,