How to interface an Analog Device's ADC on the NEXYS 4 DDR using a Pmod port ?

Yannick

Question

Hello !

I'm currently working on a project which consists in designing a digital lock-in amplifier on a FPGA board. For this, I am using a Nexys 4 DDR and an Analog Device's ADC (EVAL AD7984 PMDZ).

My first goal is to interface properly the ADC component with the FPGA using a Pmod port.

I have some basics knowledge about the use of Vivado so that's why I am asking you about this. I followed the tutorials about "getting started about MicroBlaze" to follow then "using Pmods IP".

My question is :

When I followed the first tutorial mentionned above, we created a a basic Microblaze block design. Do I have to use all this design or is it possible to do easier ?

And, do I have to design it with MicroBlaze or can I just write some VHDL code ?

I want in a first part, to give a signal input in the ADC and then, light a LED on the board to confirm that the FPGA is well connected with the ADC. Can you, please, give me a plan to achieve my goal ? I don't ask for a solution, I want to manage it by myself, but just some help to know what are the steps I have to follow.

Thank you very much ! Have a good day !

13 answers to this question

Welcome @Yannick!

You can use either Microblaze or pure VHDL, depending on the needs of your project. If you want to do some heavier calculations involving the ADC data later, it will be easier to use Microblaze. Pure VHDL uses less onboard resources, but takes more work to do properly for complicated designs.