Tutorial Suggestion/Question

B SULLY

I am walking through the Getting Started With Zynq tutorial and am at a crossroads in the design. In step 5.2) of the tutorial:

"After the design validation step we will proceed with creating a HDL System Wrapper. In the block design window, under the Design Sources tab, right-click on the block diagram file. We labeled it “design_1.bd” and select Create HDL Wrapper."

Vivado gives me a pop up with two options and the tutorial doesn't provide any guidance. If I were not so new to FPGA design maybe the answer would be clear as day but as a beginner I wish these detail were more clear. 

• Copy generated wrapper to allow user edits
  • Let VIvado manage wrapper and auto-update

The window also states;"You can either add or copy the HDL wrapper file to the project. Use copy option if you would like to modify this file."

The next step moves on to generate a bitstream file so I'm going to assume that this file will not be edited any longer. I wish the tutorial would provide a bit more context to the steps laid out and how the operations used in this simple project would/could be used in another project. So far I appears that once I'm done this this tutorial I will only have learned how to accomplish the same task, only with a bit more confidence.

After step 6 I am given another window the tutorial does not make any mention of. The window is titled Launch Runs with text; "Launch the selected synthesis or implementation runs." and provides 3 choices.

• Launch runs on local host:
  • Generate scrips only
  • Number of jobs [2] {with option to change value}

There is also a choice of Launch directory.