Best Pmod for Debugging / Output

Riesenrad

Question

Hello together,
I'm a student and I am going to buy the Basys3 board. At that nice student price I thought I'd get a Pmod for Debugging like a little screen.
I will be programming only hardware circuits and my own processors.

As it seems to me, all tutorials for the OLEDrgb Pmod are made for use with the Microblaze which is not something that I plan to do. For that kind of stuff I already have microcontrollers lying around.

I want to be able to access the screen / output (maybe only leds are possible for this purpose? and 7 segments?) directly via my hardware like turning on and off LEDs for debugging and maybe also for displaying actual useful information.

What would be the best Pmod for this sake? OLED? LCD? Are these even accessible via SystemVerilog? 7 Segment and LEDs should work afaik but the board already has a lot of them...

Some examples: 

Showing which state of an automata I'm in, Showing if my clock is working, Displaying results of a calculation, ...

Thank you in advance!

Riesenrad

13 answers to this question

@Riesenrad,

I just bought a PMod to help me debug my RTL.  I bought a PMod8LD.  It has 8-LEDs on it that can be used for debugging.  I purchased it to primarily help me debug whether or not I had my constraints file done properly for a icoboard board.  Since the Basys3 already has 16 LED's, I'm not sure this hardware would help you.

As for the OLEDrgb, it is not necessary to program it via MicroBlaze.  You can find an example project here that programs the OLEDrgb via a ZipCPU.  Specifically, you can find a digital controller for it here, and the software that activates that controller here.  Because of the difficulty of setting it up, I might argue that a CPU is the best way to set up and use this particular PMod, although I'm sure with your imagination you might find other ways to do so.