cmeuchel

Question

I am very new to this hardware and C programming.  I just purchased the Uno32 with an AnalogShield.  I am running the Passthrough program which works.  I would like to also display the input voltage but I am not able to calculate from the digital number that I am getting.  At 0V, I get -32693 counts.  At 1.587V (AA battery), I get -22377.  At -1.587V, I get 22533.  At -3.127, 12159.  AT 3.167, -11989 counts.  So at lower voltage, I get higher counts.  I think this is lack of knowledge on my part; hopefully someone can help me out.

Thanks!

int count = 0;
float val = 0;
void loop()
{
  count = analog.read(0);  //read in on port labeled 'IN0'
  //count = count;
  float voltage=count*(5.0/65535.0);
  val = map(count, -32768.0, 32768.0, 0.0, 5.0);
  analog.write(0, count);  //write out the value on port labeled 'OUT0'
  Serial.println("count ");
  Serial.println(count);
  Serial.println("map -32768, 32768, 0, 5");
  Serial.println(val);
  Serial.println("Voltage as 65535 over 5V");
    Serial.println(voltage);
    Serial.println(" ");
  //Serial.println("count");
  //Serial.println(analog.read(1));
  //Serial.println("voltage");
  //Serial.println(v);
  delay(10000);
}

2 answers to this question

Hi cmeuchel,

I believe I have found the source of your original problem. 

The issue that you are running into is with the fact that the analog.read() function returns an unsigned 16 bit value. However, you have count declared as an "int" meaning it is a signed (+/-) value.  Therefore, because you are assigning an unsigned value to a signed value, the most significant bit (the largest value which accounts for all of your higher voltages) is no longer interpreted as a number, so-to-speak, but as a minus sign, messing up any attempts to correctly interpret the value.