Bandwidth of PMOD ports on Nexys 4 DDR Artix-7

neil

Question

Dear All,

I'm completely new to FPGAs but would like to use the PMOD ports on a Nexys 4 DDR Artix-7 FPGA development board to input a high speed digital data stream. I'd like to get to speeds of 100 Mbits per second, or higher if possible. Does anyone know what the bandwidth is for a digital stream on the PMOD ports of this particular FPGA? Or perhaps should I aim to use a different FPGA board?

many thanks, Neil

12 answers to this question

@neil,

PMod's really aren't that high speed of a port.  Using them at high speeds is, I'm sure, not a "supported feature".  However, you might wish to read this discussion on the topic.  While I'm still looking forward to participating in the differential pmod challenge @zygot has offered, I'm still a piece of hardware or two away from actually trying it myself (they're on my next digikey order).  As I remember reading, he was getting roughly 456Mb/s across four differential PMod channels.  I think you will find it a fun challenge to try to get the port up to that speed, or even higher.

Yours,

Dan

Dan,

many thanks for your good response and the link, i waited a while in case others responded. But yes i realise Pmod's aren't really designed for this,but there's a possibility it may work, potentially a low cost solution - cost is usually the determining factor in moving forward.

I am interested in the differential single bit transfer, so i'm wondering if the design of the tracks on the Nexys 4 development board for the 8 signal pins from each of the Pmod connectors had had any considerations for minimising the area enclosed (as in a twisted pair), thus minimising electromagnetic pick-up?