Nexys4 DDR ethernet

weirao

Question

Recently, I'm working with the Nexys4 DDR. What I want to do is to control a peripheral device and get data from it via PMOD port, and then send the data to the PC from Ethernet port. By learning the tutorials, now I can get the data and save the data to DDR, and fetch the data from DDR via UART. However, for several days, I can not make the ethernet work. I have studied the tutorial "Getting Started with Microblaze Servers". When I finished the tutorial, I still don't know how to use it in my own project. Actually, I  even don't understand what the purpose of each step of the tutorial. The reference manual says the PHY can be accessed only by using two IP core, ati_ethernetlite and mii_to_rmii . So I am confused that why this tutorial looks like so complicated. And I want to know is there any simple tutorials or examples about the ethernet control? I am a beginner of the FPGA program, please forgive my stupid questions.

4 answers to this question

Hello,

The ethernet lite IP uses the lwip stack. Its wiki can be found here. http://lwip.wikia.com/wiki/LwIP_Wiki

You should be able to use the same hardware setup as the servers demo plus your Pmod connection. The hard part will be determining how to get data straight to your computer. The way I can immediately think of (I'm by no means an expert) is to set up a "server" on your computer that waits for data coming in to its socket then prints it out on arrival. You would then need to figure out how to act as a client from your program to send the server data.

If you just want to be able to query your board for data at a constant rate, you may want to just use the server demo you built and instead of sending back an echo, grab data from your Pmod and send that.

Long story short there isn't a simple demo that basically replaces a UART connection with ethernet but with some digging it shouldn't be too hard.