Producing sound using the PmodAMP2 and Vivado

RobinVDS

Question

Hello,

I'm making a project using Vivado, a Basys3 Atrix-7 FPGA Board and the PmodAMP2.

The purpose of this project is to make a digital piano, but i can't find the proper code to send a specfic frequency to the Pmod AMP2 using VHDL and Vivado.

Can someone help me out ? I'm pretty new to programming in VHDL.

Thanks !

Robin

5 answers to this question

@RobinVDS,

I have the PModAMP2!  I love the thing.  It's got some decent audio quality, especially when you play canned waveforms into it.  That means it should be able to sound like a nice digital piano, but ... gosh, there's a lot that goes on between playing a tone into an audio output and a fine-quality piano sound--more than I could ever coach you through.

What I can do, though, is point you at some examples of projects that use the PModAMP2, but I'll warn you: all my examples are in Verilog, not VHDL.

Here's the "core" I put together to control the PModAMP2.  As you are probably familiar, to create the tone in the PModAMP2 you will need to create a PWM waveform.  This is usually done by comparing a counter to a threshold, and producing a one if the counter is less than the threshold and a zero otherwise.  I've taken a twist on this approach and I like to bit-reverse the counter before the comparison.  The result has the same number of "on" vs "off" cycles as it would if it weren't reversed, but it spreads the distortion across higher frequencies which are easier to filter out within hardware.

Here's a design, using the CMod-S6, that uses the PModAMP2.  It plays a recorded sound (a doorbell) when a button is pressed.  It was a fun project to do.