Max 32 "no target found" with Arduino IDE

Mark248

Question

I am having an issue with the chipkit max32. I bought this controller awhile ago. It is rev D. I have never used it before until now. I cannot connect it to arduino IDE. I have nothing connected to it other than the usb cable. I have purchased a new usb cable to verify the cable is good. When i try to upload a simple sketch it will compile properly but will not upload. I get the error message "An error occured while uploading the sketch". Further information reads "No target found." 

I have downloaded the chipkit core and selected the chipKIT MAX32. The board shows up as com 6 when plugged in and i have selected this.

When i plug the board in theLD3 led goes solid. The LD1 and LD2 leds blink twice. When i try to upload the sketch there is no change to any leds. 

I have read that there were ossues with the bootloader but i do not have a programmer to change the bootloader. 

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Mark

25 answers to this question

Hi Jon,

I guess I found the source of the mistake. When I connect the Max32 card it immediately opens the serial port and sends data for PC. (With mentioned bootloader). So the programmer software can no longer access the COM port.

The other cards do not do this.

Have you an idea of what might cause this? (The ftdi chip has its "own life"..???....)

image.png.149df7cfb482c8db071512b9dda6d390.png

tibi

Hi @snapscan,

We verified the compiler you are using works with our MAX32.  Have you re-verified that you are using the correct com port? Do you have any security firewall that might be interfering with the com port? Do you have any other usb devices plugged into your PC? Have you deleted the Arduino IDE and re-installed the it (making sure to deleted the arduino15 folder)?

thank you,

Jon

Hi Jon,

I have tried use the latest digilent core. The problem is still there.