Hdmi Sink On Zybo Zynq?

digicloud14

Question

Hi there, I recently purchased a Zybo Zynq 7000 development board and have been working through tutorials to familiarize myself with Vivado, IP blocks, etc (not a ton of experience with FPGAs).

I have used the base system design included and successfully was able to display images from the HDMI out on the board using an included demo. For the project I have in mind, however, I really want the HDMI port to function as a receive/sink port rather than transmit/source. All the other peripherals configured in the base system design are perfect for my application aside from the HDMI.

Is there a way to change the base system design to have the HDMI configured as receive rather than transmit? Or can someone direct me as to how to configure an IP block in Vivado for HDMI receive for the Zybo? I have no experience with Vivado or IP blocks or p cores or what have you, and while I have a basic understanding how the design flow in Vivado,a guide with beginners in mind would be appreciated.

This next part may sound dumb, but is just an idea: while looking through the schematic for the HDMI port, it seems that there is an HDMI_OEN pin (hdmi output enable?), and in Vivado a similar block that says HDMI_OEN is present above the IP block for the HDMI TX. Is it as simple as flipping the value on the HDMI_OEN pin? I feel that is too simple too work but just thought I'd include the info anyways in case it is useful or relevant.

Thanks,
Chris

11 answers to this question

Our only demo available for Video input on the ZYBO is the Gopro project described here: http://www.instructables.com/id/Quick-Start-Test-Demo-Zybo-Xlinx-Zynq-7000-Image-F/. The source for that project is found here, but unfortunately there is no tutorial currently for building the source: https://github.com/LariSan/Digilent-Maker/tree/master/Zybo/zybo_video_demo.